The state of Arkansas is filled with surprises. For instance, Arkansas has the only active diamond mine in the U.S., along with the only mine where you can mine for your own diamonds. That wonder can be verified, but others are a little more far-fetched, like this one: Fouke, AR is said to be home to the Boggy Creek Monster, a hairy, seven-foot-tall creature that reportedly kills chicken, cattle, dogs, and livestock. Diamond mines and a wannabe Bigfoot? You’re probably surprised. What shouldn’t surprise you are Arkansas’ insurance requirements.
Ever wonder what insurance requirements are specific to your state? Look no further. Here’s what you need to know about car insurance in Arkansas, “The Natural State.”
Q: What are the minimum insurance requirements for Arkansas?
A: In Arkansas, every vehicle owner must have bodily injury liability and property damage liability. The minimum liability you are required to carry by law is $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 per accident, and $25,000 to cover property damage to other’s property. Insurance companies do offer higher limits.
Q: What do bodily injury liability and property damage liability help pay for?
A: If you cause an accident that injures another person, bodily injury liability will pay for the other person’s medical expenses, not yours, and if needed, pay for your legal services. Property damage liability will pay for damage done to the other person’s property. It will not pay for repairs to your own vehicle, so if you think you might not be able to pay for repairs to your car out of your own pocket after an accident, you might want to consider comprehensive and collision coverage.
Q: Are there any car insurance discounts that must be offered in the state of Arkansas?
A: Yes, according to the Arkansas Insurance Department, there are two discounts that the state requires insurance companies to offer Arkansas drivers: the College Graduate Discount and Defensive Driver Discount for those 55 and over who have successfully completed a course approved by the Office of Driver Services. Insurance companies usually offer a handful of other discounts, like a discount for insuring multiple vehicles, owning a home, or having prior coverage.*
Q: Why do my rates go up when I haven’t had an accident or claim?
Your insurance company could have increased rates across the board if they had to pay out more losses than expected, but you could personally receive a lower rate based on your vehicle type, vehicle age, or geographic location. Direct Auto Insurance recently decreased its insurance rates in Arkansas, meaning you could save up to 20%.**
If you’re still curious about car insurance in Arkansas, leave us a comment below or call one of our friendly agents at 1-877-463-4732. Get a quote today to see just how low your car insurance rate in Arkansas could be!
*Discounts may only apply to certain coverages and are subject to terms and conditions and may not be available in all states or distribution channels.
**Reduced rates subject to eligibility and may vary based on coverages and pay plans selected. Cost may vary depending on how you buy.