Calling All Floridians! What You Need to Know About Florida State Minimums for Auto Insurance
Got a Florida license plate? Whether you’re new to the Sunshine State or you’ve been navigating I-10 and I-75 for years, you need the right insurance as a Florida driver so you can stay legal!
Wondering what kind of coverage you need? You’re not alone. That’s why we’re covering the basics about financial responsibility minimums in Florida.
Who needs Florida car insurance?
Thankfully, this rule is simple: if you have a Florida license plate on any of your vehicles or are going to register your car in Florida, you need to meet Florida car insurance minimums.
If you fail to get the state required coverage, the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles is authorized to suspend your driving privilege, including your vehicle license plate and registration, for up to three years or until proof of Florida insurance is provided, whichever is first.
Keep in mind, however, that if you don’t have Florida plates, you’ll still need to get the minimum coverage required by the state where your car is registered.
What types of Florida car insurance coverage are required?
At a minimum, Florida car insurance laws require that every driver have two types of coverage: personal injury protection (PIP) $10,000 per occurrence (PIP is also called “no-fault insurance.”); and property damage liability (PDL), also in the amount of $10,000 per occurrence.
There are also certain circumstances that might require additional coverage:
If you get into an accident that results in bodily injury and you can’t cover the expenses, you will also need to get bodily injury liability coverage (BIL). Likewise, you’ll be required to get BIL in the event that you get a DUI.
Beyond those three types of coverage, whether you choose to include other types of coverage in your policy (like collision and comprehensive coverage) is up to you, or the requirements mandated by your lease contract or lienholder.
Finally, be sure to carry proof of your insurance in your car at all times. Keep it someplace you know you’ll have easy access to it when you’re on the road, like your glove compartment or wallet.
About Car Insurance in Other States
Not all state auto coverage requirements are the same. So how can you make sure you’re ready to hit the road safely and legally? Check out Direct Auto’s guide to car insurance minimums by state, and talk to a Direct Auto Insurance customer service representative to get the auto insurance rates you need.