Here’s What Virginia Drivers Need to Know About New Auto Insurance Limits in 2022
It’s a new year, and for Virginians, it means new auto insurance limits are here. As of January 1, 2022, drivers in the Old Dominion State are now better protected after an accident with higher levels of minimum liability coverage. Keep reading to learn about this recent law change to minimum auto insurance limits and how it will impact you.
What are the new minimum limits in Virginia?
Each state sets its own limits for the minimum amount of car insurance a driver must carry, and Virginia has reset theirs to better protect you. Effective January 1, 2022, all new and renewing auto insurance policies in Virginia are required by law to meet the minimum liability insurance limits of:
- $30,000 for bodily injury or death of one person per accident.
- $60,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more people per accident.
- $20,000 for property damage per accident.
Policies requiring an FR-44 must meet the minimum liability insurance limits of:
- $60,000 for bodily injury or death of one person per accident.
- $120,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more people per accident.
- $40,000 for property damage per accident.
Why did Virginia increase the minimum limits?
Before this year, Virginia’s insurance minimum coverage limits hadn’t changed since 1975 despite decades of inflation. In turn, Senator Scott Surovell sponsored a bill to raise Virginia’s minimum coverage limits, which was approved by both houses and signed into law.
According to Surrovell, “This update to the current minimum limits is long overdue given the increase in the cost of health care, wages, and the value of automobiles over the last 45 years. The state with the highest minimums, Maine, has the lowest number of uninsured drivers in America. The state with the lowest minimums, Florida, has the highest number of uninsured drivers. The data would tend to show that the higher minimum policy you have, the fewer people go without insurance, so it actually has a positive effect.” 
How much is my rate going up in 2022?
According to a study conducted by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in 2018, the increased limits could raise a driver’s premium by an average of 11 percent.
For your current rate, look to your policy or talk to your insurance agent. And remember, renewal time is a great time to review your policy and see if you qualify for any new discounts. Direct customers can view their policy details online in MyAccount or in our mobile app.
Minimum insurance limits to increase further in 2025.
As part of the new law, minimum insurance limits will go up one more time on January 1, 2025, increasing to $50,000 for injury or death of one person, $100,000 for injury or death of two or more people, and $25,000 for property damage. For those requiring an FR-44, the coverage would be doubled.
|Liability Insurance Coverage Requirements 
Senate Bill 1182 raises the minimum insurance requirements as follows:
|Injury or death of one person||Injury or death of two or more people||Property damage|
|In-force policies before Jan. 1, 2022||$25,000||$50,000||$20,000|
|New and renewing policies from Jan. 1, 2022, through December 31, 2024||$30,000||$60,000||$20,000|
|New and renewing policies on or after Jan. 1, 2025||$50,000||$100,000||$25,000|
Do I need to do anything?
Insurers, including Direct Auto, are automatically adjusting auto insurance policies issued or renewed on or after January 1, 2022, to ensure they’re maintaining the state’s minimum level of liability insurance. These changes go into effect on your policy renewal date. For drivers who already have coverage that meets this year’s requirements, nothing will change. Nonetheless, it’s still a good idea to check your policy against the current coverage limits to ensure you’re adequately covered. Direct customers may call 1-877-GO-DIRECT or visit their local Direct store for assistance.
What if I drive without Auto Insurance in Virginia?
If you’re caught driving without insurance or have not paid the $500 uninsured motor vehicle fee to waive coverage, you can lose your driving and vehicle registration privileges. If this happens, you’ll need to pay a $600 noncompliance fee, file a financial responsibility certificate (SR-22) with the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles for three years, and pay a reinstatement fee of up to $220 to reinstate these privileges. It’s smart to ensure you have a form of financial responsibility now to avoid any expensive consequences later.
Get Covered in Virginia with Affordable Auto Insurance
Although you can choose to pay a fee to the DMV to forego car insurance in Virginia, you could face significant legal and financial risks if you cause a car accident. After all, going this route doesn’t offer you any financial protection. Car accidents can cost much more than you might think, and you don’t want to be paying out of pocket for damages. So, don’t go without auto insurance in Virginia! Direct can help you get covered at an affordable rate today. Call 1-877-GO-DIRECT or come in to get a free auto insurance quote or review your policy with one of our friendly agents. We’ll ensure you have the coverage you need and work hard to get you auto insurance you can afford.
Read our Virginia Car Insurance Guide for everything else you need to know to drive legally in the Commonwealth of Virginia, including car insurance laws, minimum insurance requirements, types of coverages, and more.
For more information regarding these changes, visit scc.virginia.gov and search §46.2-316.
 Scranage, Philip. “Senator Scott Surovell’s Bill to Increase Insurance Minimums Passes Out of the Senate and House of Delegates, Awaiting Governor Northam’s Signature.” Online Office of Scott Surovell, https://scottsurovell.org/2021/03/01/senator-scott-surovells-bill-to-increase-insurance-minimums-passes-out-of-the-senate-and-house-of-delegates-awaiting-governor-northams-signature/. Published 1 March 2021.
 Bazzle, Allison. “Minimum liability car insurance coverage going up in Virginia beginning Jan. 1.” 13 News Now, https://www.13newsnow.com/article/money/cars/car-insurance-premium-increase-virginia/291-d39ee409-324d-442d-869d-060d847f6120. Published 22 December 2021.
 Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/vehicles/#insurance.asp.
 Bowman, Cynthia Paez. “Average cost of car insurance in Virginia.” Bankrate, https://www.bankrate.com/insurance/car/average-cost-of-car-insurance-in-virginia/. Published 30 December 2021.